top of page

How to Be A Research Expert and Be Able to Write Just about Anything!

Updated: Oct 21, 2023


a man writing on his notebook with books and a laptop on the table


In this post I'm going to share with you some of my proven effective tips to fast track your writing prowess.


Being a writer is a tough job. More so if you will be asked to write in English but English is not your first language. Being born as a non-English speaker and grew up in an environment where everybody considers English as a foreign language, certainly pose quite a bit of challenge.


Thanks to my late father who, since I was seven years old, kept encouraging me to read novels and books written by American authors.


But, being a non-native speaker of the English language does not mean that we cannot be excellent writers at all.


In fact, there are already so many non-American bloggers and individuals working as remote writers who already excelled in this field. So, how do you jumpstart your writing skills when English is not your mother tongue?


Tip #1 : Research, research, and research.


Never rely on your stock knowledge otherwise your nose will bleed literally. Exploit the information superhighway!


For example, you’ll be asked to write one blog post with 1,500 words. In order for you to produce such a lengthy blog post, you shouldn’t be relying on one reference alone as your source of information. Otherwise, you’ll be tagged as plagiarizing or simply regurgitating content from other writers, which in turn makes you a terrible writer.



the Google browser helps you become a research expert


Tips #2: Obtain valuable information from reliable sources.


When doing research for your blog post, citing specific studies and statistics is a must-have. The addition of facts will not only give your readers an impression that you are an expert in the topic that you are writing about.


But, sharing credible information to your readers is also tantamount to making your readers more knowledgeable. After all, this is the reason why they searched the internet and luckily, it’s your post that they’ve stumbled upon!


Mention statistics, names of experts who conducted the scientific study or research and your blog post will be filled with so much substance and before you know it your reader will be clicking on your other blog posts, one after the other.




Tip #3: Choose at least three references.


Make sure you will have at least three references. Therefore, if your post is about “The Dangers of Sugar Consumption”, your three references may include:


healthline.com is one good reference for health articles

The National Library of Medicine is a good reference for scientific studies

webmd.com is a good reference for health-related information backed by studies

Note that these three references are all authority sites, which gives your readers an impression that your blog post consists of trusted content. And, as a result, makes you more credible as a writer.


This is because it will become evident in the overall content of your blog post that every information written was not sourced from just any other sites. Everything in it is obtained from websites which have already established enough credibility in the world of blogging.


Now that you have chosen your three references, it is up to you which of these websites, or which of the paragraphs from these references will you get information to be used for your introduction, body, and conclusion.


For example, for my introduction, I will write what I’ve learned from the abstract portion of this journal from PubMed, then expound it a little bit more so it will have my own input and to add some originality in the paragraph.



an abstract portion of a PubMed article about the dangers of sugar


For the BODY of the article


For me, I usually use at least two or three references for the article BODY alone. This way, nobody can accuse me that my blog post is just the REWRITTEN VERSION of some other people’s blog post.


For example - I will only be using these two paragraphs from the Harvard Health article as a reference for my article body. Of course, I will make sure to rewrite the gist of it in my own words.


screenshot of paragraphs taken from a Harvard Health article

Then, I will get another paragraph from WebMD. For example, I will use the information learned from these two paragraphs here as an additional reference for my article body. And, as always, I will rewrite it in my own words, according to what I've understood from these paragraphs.

paragraphs from a WebMD article as a reference


And for the CONCLUSION


I will take some information from the first few paragraphs of this Healthline article, rewrite it in my own words and write it in a way that will make the entire paragraph fit for the CONCLUSION part of the blog post that I am writing about.


Why is it important to have many references?


Because the more references you have, the more original your blog post will become. So, you can confidently claim that your article is RESEARCH-BASED, with facts obtained from TRUSTED SOURCES. This leads you to become a RELIABLE WRITER, capable of writing articles with authoritative content.


But, how do you come up with an outstanding blog post from these trusted sources?


This is when you have to learn how to rewrite the paragraphs from your chosen references and summarize the information using your own words.


The process of writing your own blog post using your chosen references will be discussed in a separate blog post. Feel free to check it out here:


How To Write And Rewrite Content That’s Plagiarism Free


That will be our topic for our next blog post. So, stay tuned and don’t forget to like and subscribe for more writing tips.






0 views
my wp photo.jpg

About Me

Hi!

I created this website to be able to help budding writers out there. I have been working as home-based writer since 2009 and this website is all about the tips, tricks and all the lessons I've learned from writing all these years. If you love writing as much as I do, then this blog is for you!

 

Keep writing!

Riza the Writer

 

Join My Mailing List

Thanks for submitting!

© 2035 by Going Places. Powered and secured by Wix

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Pinterest
  • Twitter
bottom of page